After 2020 Python Software Foundation Board of Directors Election .

After 2020 Python Software Foundation Board of Directors Election .

Here we Go!!!.

Before i start let me use this opportunity to give thanks to Ewa Jodlowska and the entire PSF team for the election and leadership skills during the dark cloud of COVID-19.

Grown up in the hot desert and mountainous area of Kunene Region in Namibia. Hanging with elephants and other wild animals everyday is my day to day activity when i am at the village. Alt Text

This year, the [Python Software Foundation] (python.org/psf-landing) had four seats going vacant with directors fulfilling their term. After many years of working with Python community in Namibia and around the globe, I decided to run for a seat.

I didn't know one day I would be running for the high position in the world of tech. 
I had a privilege to contest with well-known people in Python community this year.

The results didn’t go well on my side, and I accepted as it is. I received the bunch of email from people around the world encouraging me not to give up since I was closer. Some went to extend of calling me on my mobile phone. A wounded lion never gives up, but always trying its best to protect the pride. I have a long journey with our community. I see a defeat as a ladder to the brighter future. I will keep fighting for the Python community day and night. Cheer to you all.

The community i serve.

Alt Text I have been an active volunteer in the Python community for several years, advocating for usage of Python in Namibia and around the globe.
Read the full nomination statement here

Check out the responsibilities of a director of the PSF here.

Duties & Responsibilities of PSF Directors Life as a Python Software Foundation Director

The results

It was that time where we separate sheeps from goats, the dark hour came and the election results was announced, I was in 8th place out of 26 nominees with 201 votes and the highest got 263 votes. Four board seats were available for grab. 1,151 people were eligible to vote, while those that actually voted were 462 persons.

The elected top four nominees was:

Congratulations !!! Congratulations !!! Omake - means hands in my home language (One way of appreciating someone after the achievement). Cheer to everyone who got elected. See full results here

PSF Board Election Reform

The result margins was narrow, therefore the Python Software Foundation (PSF) staff, incoming directors, existing directors, and community have already taken time to discuss the participation and representation of our global community on the PSF Board of Directors. Checkout Lorena Mesa from the PSF thread: [here] (discuss.python.org/t/psf-board-election-ref..) maybe you'll be interested in the thread, or you want to share your thought with the community.

Lastly let’s hold hands and support the upcoming directors as one community. I know there have been many thoughts & emotions about the recent election but that shouldn't divert us away from the community we lead.

Thank you all.